Wispr Flow alternatives: one built for Arabic and English, plus six more
DanDin is our product. We test it the same way we test the other tools, and we tell you when another tool fits you better. How we test
The short answer
The best Wispr Flow alternative depends on your computer, your language and your budget, and if you speak Arabic and English, DanDin, which is ours, is the one built for you. Wispr Flow types your speech into apps on Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android, says it covers "100+ languages", gives 2,000 free words a week on desktop, and charges $15 a month for Pro, or $12 a month billed yearly. Its help centre says "Flow detects one language per dictation, not per word." DanDin's default mode writes each sentence in its own language, so Arabic and English can share one dictation. Superwhisper runs on four platforms with a free tier and Pro at $8 a month. FreeFlow is free, open source and Mac only. Apple Dictation, Windows voice typing, Google Docs voice typing and Dictate in Word come with tools you may already own. Every fact is from each vendor's own pages, read on 8 October 2026. We tested none hands-on.
DanDin is our product, so read this page with that in mind. Want only DanDin and Wispr Flow, side by side? Go to DanDin vs Wispr Flow. This page is the wider list, and how we test dictation apps explains the method we will use when hands-on tests start.
What does Wispr Flow do, according to Wispr?
Only Wispr's own pages, quoted, read on 8 October 2026. Wispr rewrote its language help page shortly before that day, so older quotes you may find elsewhere are out of date.
It is a dictation app for four platforms. Its pricing page lists "Speech-to-text in any app, 100+ languages" and "Dictation on Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android". Its requirements page names "Mac, Windows, iPhone, and Android." and gets precise: the Mac needs "macOS 12 Monterey or later; Apple Silicon or Intel.", Windows needs "Windows 10 or 11; x64 processor.", the iPhone needs "iOS 18.3 or later; iPhone only.", and Android needs "Android 13 or newer; smartphone with an accelerometer." The same page says "iPad, Linux, Chromebooks, virtual machines, and remote desktop environments are not supported" and "Windows on ARM and Snapdragon are unsupported".
On languages, the help centre opens with "Flow dictates in 100+ languages." Then comes the rule that matters most for anyone who speaks two: "Flow detects one language per dictation, not per word." You can let it guess, since "Auto-detect on Mac, Windows, and iOS lets Flow choose from all supported languages.", or narrow it down: "Selecting languages narrows what Flow can choose from; selecting just one tells Flow to use that language." Android is different: "Android has no Auto-detect entry; at least one language is required to save." For Hindi mixed with English, Wispr asks you to choose a special option by hand: "Select Hinglish explicitly for mixed Hindi-English dictation: Flow does not detect it automatically". Arabic is not named anywhere on that page.
On money: Free is "$0/mo" with a word limit of "2,000/week on desktop" and "1,000/week on mobile". Pro is "$15" per user a month, or "$12" per user a month on the annual toggle, with "Unlimited dictations". Growth is "$23" monthly and "$18" annual, and Enterprise is "Custom". There is also a meetings feature: "Wispr Flow Notetaker: Mac and Windows only for now. More platforms coming soon."
Why do people look for a Wispr Flow alternative?
Five reasons that come from the facts above, not from an opinion about the product.
- Price. Pro is $15 a month per user. Free is real but stops at 2,000 words a week on desktop.
- One language per dictation. Wispr's own words: "Flow detects one language per dictation, not per word." If you switch language from one sentence to the next, that is a written rule, not a bug.
- Arabic is not on the page. The language help page no longer names Arabic at all, so an Arabic speaker has nothing in writing to go on.
- Hardware it does not cover. No iPad, no Linux, no Chromebook, no virtual machine or remote desktop, and no Windows on ARM.
- You already own something. Apple, Microsoft and Google all ship dictation, and if your language is on their lists you may not need another app.
None of that makes Wispr Flow bad at anything, and we cannot say it is: we have not run it.
The seven alternatives
Unranked, in alphabetical order, because we have not tested them and a ranking would be made up. DanDin is ours. It is the second entry by alphabet and is labelled everywhere it appears.
| Tool | Platforms | Languages, as documented | Free option | Paid price | Tested by us |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wispr Flow (reference) | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | "100+ languages", one language per dictation; Arabic not named | "2,000/week on desktop", "1,000/week on mobile" | Pro "$15" a user a month, "$12" on the annual toggle | No |
| Apple Dictation | Mac, iPhone, iPad | Arabic (Saudi Arabia) and Arabic (United Arab Emirates) listed; no Arabic under automatic punctuation | Comes with macOS | None stated | No |
| DanDin (ours) | Mac, Windows | Arabic and English; the default mode writes each sentence in its own language | 2,000 words per rolling 7 days, no card | USD 16.99 a month, USD 149 a year | It is our own product |
| FreeFlow | Mac only (Apple silicon and Intel) | Not stated: the repository names no languages | Open source, MIT licence | None: you supply an API key | No |
| Voice typing in Google Docs | Chrome, Edge, Safari | 15 Arabic entries; "Voice commands are available only in English." | Not stated on the page we read | Not stated | No |
| Superwhisper | macOS, Windows, iPhone, Android | "100+ languages & dialects", Arabic not named | "Free tier that doesn’t expire" | Pro "$8" a month | No |
| Voice typing in Windows | Windows 11 and 10 | 46 languages for Windows 11, Arabic not among them | Comes with Windows | None stated | No |
| Dictate in Word | Word on Windows and Mac | Arabic (Bahrain), (Egypt), (Saudi Arabia) as Preview languages | No: "only available to Microsoft 365 subscribers" | A Microsoft 365 subscription | No |
Swipe the table to see every column
Apple Dictation
Built into every Mac, iPhone and iPad, at no extra cost. You turn it on in System Settings, under Keyboard, then Dictation. Apple's feature availability page lists Arabic (Saudi Arabia) and Arabic (United Arab Emirates) for dictation, and lists Arabic for the version that runs on the device itself, but does not list Arabic under automatic punctuation. Apple also warns that "Dictation is not available in all languages or regions, and features may vary." If you set up two languages, the switch is by hand: you click the language beside the cursor, or press the Globe key.
Best for Apple Dictation
- Mac and iPhone users who want to install nothing
- Arabic on Apple hardware, since Apple lists it
- Anyone who wants dictation that can run on the device
Not best for Apple Dictation
- Windows, where it does not exist
- Arabic punctuation, which Apple does not list
- People who want the text tidied and reworded, which this does not do
DanDin, which is ours
Read this entry as a disclosure: DanDin (dandin.com) is our app. It runs on macOS 12 or newer, on Apple silicon or Intel, and on Windows 10 and 11, 64-bit. There is no phone app today and no build for Windows on ARM. You hold a key, speak, and let go, and the text is typed at your cursor in the app you were already using. On a Mac the key is Fn (the Globe key) by default. On Windows you hold Ctrl and the Windows key together, and Settings lets you pick right Alt or right Ctrl instead. Tap the key twice to talk hands-free, and press Esc to cancel.
Languages come in three modes. The default, Arabic + English, lets you speak Arabic, English or both in one dictation: DanDin works out the language of each sentence by itself, writes Arabic in Arabic letters and English in English letters, and starts a new line when you switch. Arabic only writes every word in Arabic letters, and English only writes everything in English. After the words are recognised, an AI step tidies them: it drops the "ums" and repeats, adds punctuation, and is told to keep your dialect instead of turning it into formal Arabic.
One dictation can run up to 30 minutes. Long ones go to our servers in pieces while you are still talking, so the wait at the end stays short. DanDin needs the internet and has no offline mode. If a dictation fails, nothing is typed, the recording is kept on your computer, and Retry sends it again, so you never say it twice. Free is 2,000 words in any rolling seven days, with no card. Pro is USD 16.99 a month or USD 149 a year for unlimited words, and there are team plans. We publish no accuracy figures and no list of dialects. For the two apps side by side, read DanDin vs Wispr Flow.
Best for DanDin
- People who mix Arabic and English in the same dictation
- Arabic speakers on a Mac or a Windows PC
- Long dictations, up to 30 minutes at a time
- Anyone who wants the text tidied, not just transcribed
Not best for DanDin
- Phone users: there is no app yet
- Working offline, or on a plane
- Any language other than Arabic and English
- Turning a recording you already have into text
- Windows on ARM laptops
FreeFlow
The open source option, and the one that ranks first for this query on some search engines. Its repository describes it as a "Free and open source alternative to Wispr Flow, Superwhisper, and Monologue", it is written in Swift, it is licensed under MIT, and its latest code change we saw was on 7 October 2026. It is a Mac app: "Works on all Macs (Apple Silicon + Intel)". You hold Fn to talk, or tap Command and Fn to start and stop.
The catch is in its own quick start: "Get a free Groq API key from groq.com". FreeFlow has no service of its own, which is also its privacy pitch: "There is no FreeFlow server, so FreeFlow does not store or retain your data. The only information that leaves your computer are API calls to your configured transcription and LLM provider." You can point it at a local model instead, through Ollama or LM Studio, and its readme warns that "Local models are often slower than hosted providers". The repository does not name a single supported language, so we cannot tell you anything about its Arabic.
Best for FreeFlow
- Mac users who would rather own the setup than pay a subscription
- People who already have an API key or run models locally
- Anyone who wants to read the code before trusting it with a microphone
Not best for FreeFlow
- Windows, which it does not support
- People who do not want to create an API account
- Arabic, about which it documents nothing
Voice typing in Google Docs
Free with a Google account, and the longest Arabic list on this page: Google names 15 Arabic entries, from plain Arabic to Algeria, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the Emirates. Google documents it as a browser feature: "This feature works with the latest versions of:" Chrome, Edge and Safari. It is also candid that the recognition is not really Google's on that surface: "When you turn on voice typing or captions, your web browser controls the speech-to-text service." The spoken commands, the ones that insert a comma, are English only: "Voice commands are available only in English. The account language and document language must both be English."
Best for voice typing in Google Docs
- People who write inside Google Docs anyway
- The longest documented Arabic language list here
- Anyone who wants no installation at all
Not best for voice typing in Google Docs
- Typing into other apps: Google documents this as a Docs and Slides feature
- Arabic voice commands, which Google says are English only
- People who cannot use a Google account
Superwhisper
Its home page calls it "AI Voice to Text for macOS, Windows, iOS & Android" and says "Superwhisper supports 100+ languages & dialects.", adding that "It can also translate them all to English." The Windows page is blunter: "AI dictation that works in any app on Windows 10 and 11. Speak naturally, get formatted text. Offline, private, 100+ languages." and "Free tier that doesn't expire." Its download page asks for "macOS 13.3 or later", "Windows 10 or later" and "iOS 18 or later", and lists Android. Prices, taken from the structured data its own home page publishes: Free at 0 USD and "Pro Monthly" at 8 USD. Its yearly and lifetime prices sit behind a toggle we could not read reliably, so we do not quote them. Arabic is not named on its home, Windows or download pages.
Best for Superwhisper
- People who want offline dictation, which its Windows page advertises
- Four platforms from one vendor
- The lowest documented monthly price here
Not best for Superwhisper
- Anyone who needs a written promise about Arabic, which its pages do not give
- People comparing yearly prices, which are not readable on the page
Voice typing in Windows
Free with the operating system, opened with the Windows logo key and H. Microsoft lists 46 languages for Windows 11, and Arabic is not one of them, on the English page or on its own Arabic translation. Voice access, the newer accessibility feature, publishes its own list of 15 languages and dialects with no Arabic either. Microsoft has added Fluid dictation, which "automatically corrects grammar, punctuation, and filler words as you speak", but that one is narrower: "This is a Copilot+ PC feature and is available in all English locales."
Best for voice typing in Windows
- Windows users whose language is on Microsoft’s list
- People who want to install nothing and pay nothing
- Owners of a Copilot+ PC writing in English, who get the tidying too
Not best for voice typing in Windows
- Arabic, which Microsoft does not list
- Mac users
- Anyone who wants the tidy-up in a language other than English
Dictate in Word
The microphone button in Word, and not free: "The dictation feature is only available to Microsoft 365 subscribers." Microsoft splits its languages into supported and preview, and Arabic sits in the second group, as "Arabic (Bahrain)", "Arabic (Egypt)" and "Arabic (Saudi Arabia)", under a footnote that reads "* Preview Languages may have lower accuracy or limited punctuation support." It needs the network too: "Dictation lets you use speech-to-text to author content in Microsoft 365 with a microphone and reliable internet connection." The page gives a Mac shortcut, "(Option) + F1", and no Windows shortcut at all.
Best for Dictate in Word
- People already paying for Microsoft 365 who write in Word
- Arabic in three locales, which Microsoft at least lists
- Anyone who wants dictation inside the document, with no extra app
Not best for Dictate in Word
- Typing into apps that are not Word
- People without a Microsoft 365 subscription
- Anyone who needs full accuracy in Arabic, which Microsoft itself flags as Preview
Is there a free Wispr Flow alternative?
Yes, in three different senses, and the differences matter more than the word free.
Free because it came with your computer. Apple Dictation and Windows voice typing. Nothing to install, nothing to cancel. Your language is either on the list or it is not.
Free because someone gave away the code. FreeFlow, under the MIT licence. You own the setup and you pay a third party for the transcription through your own API key, or you run a model on your own machine.
Free up to a line. Superwhisper has a "Free tier that doesn't expire". DanDin gives 2,000 words in any rolling seven days. And it is worth saying plainly, because a page written by a rival would usually hide it: Wispr Flow's own free desktop plan is the same 2,000 words a week as DanDin's. We are not more generous than the app this page is about.
How do Wispr Flow and DanDin handle Arabic and English?
This is where DanDin is different in kind, not just in degree. If you speak both languages, this is the part to read.
Wispr Flow picks one language for the whole dictation. Its help centre, read on 8 October 2026, says it plainly: "Flow detects one language per dictation, not per word." It also shows what can go wrong when two languages are selected, using Chinese as its example: "With Chinese and English selected, English words can appear in Chinese characters or vice versa." Wispr's language page does not name Arabic at all, so we will not stretch a Chinese example to cover Arabic. Read Arabic on Wispr Flow as "not documented".
DanDin writes each sentence in its own language, and that is the default. In the Arabic + English mode, which a fresh install starts on, you can say one sentence in Arabic and the next in English, in the same dictation. You do not pick a language first and you do not have to stick to one. DanDin works out the language of each sentence by itself: the Arabic comes out in Arabic letters, the English in English letters, and each switch starts a new line. Inside an Arabic sentence, an English word like "meeting" is built to stay in English letters, while a borrowed word people usually write in Arabic letters stays as you said it.
The honest limits. Per sentence is not per word, and a switch in the middle of one breath can go either way. Nobody, us included, has published accuracy figures for mixed Arabic and English speech, so this page has no numbers. If you only ever use one language, you can lock DanDin to Arabic only or English only. More on mixed speech: Arabic and English dictation, and how to change the mode: switch between Arabic and English.
Who should stay with Wispr Flow?
A real list, from Wispr's own pages.
- You dictate on a phone. Wispr Flow runs on iPhone ("iOS 18.3 or later; iPhone only.") and on Android 13 or newer. DanDin has no phone app today, and neither do FreeFlow or Windows voice typing.
- You need meeting notes. Wispr Flow has Notetaker, "Mac and Windows only for now". Its free plan lists "Limited Notetaker access" and "Longer Notetaker history" is a Pro line, so heavy meeting use is a paid reason to stay. Nothing else on this page does meetings at all.
- You work in a language that is not Arabic or English. "100+ languages" against DanDin's two is not a close call.
- You manage a team. Growth at "$23" a month per user ("$18" yearly) and Enterprise at "Custom" are built for that.
- Price decides it for you. Wispr Flow Pro is $15 a month, or $12 a month billed yearly. DanDin Pro is USD 16.99 a month or USD 149 a year, so it costs more.
How we compared
Documentation only. We opened each vendor's own website, help centre or public repository and took every quote from the raw page, not from a summary. We first read them on 17 September 2026 and read every one again on 8 October 2026, which is the date each fact above carries. Wispr's language page had changed in between, so its old quotes are gone from this page. Where a vendor's own text uses a long dash, we print a hyphen and change nothing else inside the quote.
What this method cannot tell you: how any of these apps sounds when you talk to it. We have run no side-by-side test, published no output, and timed nothing. That is the next piece of work, and until it is done this page stays unranked and says "No" in its tested column. People searching for opinions about Wispr Flow often want what other users say. We have not read or quoted user threads, and we would rather leave that gap visible than retell what strangers wrote. All our comparisons live on the dictation app comparisons page.
Head to head, one tool at a time: DanDin vs Wispr Flow, DanDin vs Superwhisper, DanDin vs Apple Dictation and DanDin vs Windows voice typing.
A correction is welcome and will be dated: support@dandin.com.
Common questions
What is the best Wispr Flow alternative?
We will not name one, because we have not tested them hands-on. The list is unranked, and the right pick depends on your computer, your language and whether you want to pay. If you speak Arabic and English, DanDin, which is ours, is the one built for that: its default mode writes each sentence in its own language.
Is there a free Wispr Flow alternative?
Several, in different senses of free. Apple Dictation and Windows voice typing come with the system. FreeFlow is open source under the MIT licence, though you bring your own API key. DanDin gives 2,000 words in any rolling seven days with no card. Wispr Flow’s own free plan is also 2,000 words a week on desktop, so nobody here beats it on that number.
Does Wispr Flow support Arabic?
Its pages do not say. Its help centre says "Flow dictates in 100+ languages", but its language page was rewritten and, as read on 8 October 2026, no longer names Arabic anywhere. No Wispr page we read describes its Arabic output, and we have not tested it. Read that as "not documented", not as "no".
Can I mix Arabic and English in one dictation?
In Wispr Flow, its help centre says "Flow detects one language per dictation, not per word." In DanDin, yes, and it is the default: the Arabic + English mode works out the language of each sentence and writes each one in its own letters. A switch in the middle of one breath can go either way, and nobody has published accuracy figures for mixed speech, us included.
Is DanDin cheaper than Wispr Flow?
No. DanDin Pro is USD 16.99 a month or USD 149 a year. Wispr Flow Pro is $15 a month, or $12 a month billed yearly. The free plans are the same size on desktop. Price is not the reason to switch to DanDin.
Which alternatives run on Windows?
Superwhisper, Windows voice typing, Dictate in Word, Google Docs voice typing in a browser, and DanDin. FreeFlow and Apple Dictation are Mac only. Wispr Flow runs on Windows 10 or 11 with an x64 processor, and its own page says "Windows on ARM and Snapdragon are unsupported". DanDin has no Windows on ARM build either.
Sources
- Wispr Flow help centre: Use Flow with multiple languages, read on
- Wispr Flow help centre: Supported devices and system requirements, read on
- Wispr Flow pricing, read on
- Superwhisper home page, read on
- Superwhisper for Windows, read on
- Superwhisper download page, read on
- FreeFlow, the open source Mac dictation app (repository and readme), read on
- Apple: Dictate messages and documents on Mac, read on
- Apple: macOS Golden Gate feature availability, read on
- Microsoft: Use voice typing to talk instead of type on your PC, read on
- Microsoft: Set up voice access, read on
- Microsoft: Dictate your documents in Word, read on
- Google: Type with your voice in Google Docs, read on
Keep reading
- Dictation app comparisons
- How we test dictation appsOur method, and what we have not done yet: no app on this site has been tested hands-on.
- Speech to text in Arabic and English, in the same dictationArabic and English in one dictation, each sentence in its own letters, by default. What Wispr Flow documents, and the honest limits.
- How to switch between Arabic and English in DanDinYou rarely need to switch: the default mode writes each sentence in its own language. Here is where the setting lives if you want one language only.